Skip Navigation
Expand
Changes carried forward at production cutover
Answer ID 1925   |   Last Review Date 06/09/2020

Which changes are carried forward from production at cutover and which changes are from the upgrade site?

Environment:

Oracle Service Cloud

Resolution:

-If enrolled in AUP: Custom files will be synced from the production site to the upgrade site approximately 8 hours prior to cutover through a feature called File Sync. This allows customers to make changes to custom files on the production site during the update process without losing the changes. Please note: File Sync does not sync message base or configuration setting edits. Nor does it sync production file changes made within 8 hours of cutover. File Sync does not automatically sync deleted files from the production site to the upgrade site either. Changes to custom files on the upgrade site will not be recoverable after cutover.

-----

-If completing a legacy update:  Please do not make any changes to custom files (including Customer Portal files) during the update unless the change is deemed business critical.  You must then replicate the production changes on the upgrade site to avoid losing the changes at cutover.

When a Oracle Service Cloud site is updated to a new version, the database from the existing production site is merged with the configuration files of the upgrade site.  The table below is applicable for legacy updates only, with two exceptions. Message bases and configuration settings are impacted equally by AUP and legacy updates. The table illustrates where each feature/component change is retained from after the upgrade cutover. This means that if you make changes to the feature/component for the site from the table below, those changes will be retained after the update. If there is an "X" in the Production/Live site column then the feature/component is carried over from the Production site. If there is an "X" in the Upgrade site column then the feature/component is carried over from the upgrade site.

Feature area and Source during a site update
Feature / Component
Production / Live site
Upgrade Site
Incidents
X

Contacts
X

Organizations
X

Answers (including KA Answers)
X6

Reports
X

Attachments
X

-----
-----
-----
All Customizable Menus
X

Answer Variables
X4

Custom Fields
X2

Custom Objects
X3

Custom Processes (CPMs)
X

Distribution Lists
X

Enabled Messages
X

Groups
X

Guided Assistance
X

Interface Settings
X

Local Spell Check Dictionaries
 X5

Mailboxes
X

Mailings/Campaigns
X

Message Templates
X

Mobile Agent App
X

Navigation Sets
X

Products / Categories / Dispositions
X

Profiles
X

Queues
X

Response Requirements
X

Rules
X

SLAs
X

Staff Accounts
X

Standard Text
X

Subscriptions
X

Surveys/Questions
X

Workspaces
X

SSL Certificate
X

-----
-----
-----
Add-Ins
X1,8
X1
Answer Images (including KA images)
X7,8
X
Standard/Custom Configuration Settings

X
Customer Portal
X8
X
File Manager
X8
X
Standard/Custom Message Bases

X
Robots.txt

X
Wordlist files

X9
Asian Language Dictionaries Files

X





1  Please refrain from making changes to add-in code once the update process has started.  There are two components to add-ins. One component is stored in the database, which comes from the production/live site. The other component is stored in the file system, which comes from the upgrade site. If changes are made to the add-in code on the production site while an update is underway then the changes need to be re-applied to the site post-cutover.  Add-ins that are updated as part of the update process should be uploaded to OVERWRITE the existing Add-In.  Deleting the existing add-in and uploading a new one may cause the add-ins to be inaccessible.

2  Custom Fields should not be added, modified, or deleted while the upgrade site is being create or from seven days prior to cutover.  Changing Custom Fields within this time period can cause the update to fail and/or be postponed.

3  Custom Objects cannot not be added, modified, or deleted while the upgrade site is being created or from seven days prior to cutover.  See Custom Object deployment error: Deployments are currently disabled for details.

4  Answer visibilities should not be modified while the upgrade site is being created or from seven days prior to cutover.

5  The local spell check dictionaries are stored locally, and are retained at cutover.  However, if the application is uninstalled and re-installed rather than updated, the dictionary will be lost.

6  Answers from the Knowledge Advanced (KA) product will migrate through an update from the production environment, just as traditional Answers.

7  When using Knowledge Advanced, images uploaded via the CKEditor are treated as file attachments.  Thus, the images on the production site will be retained at cutover.

File Sync has been enabled on all sites that participate in the Auto Update Program (AUP) that are updating to version 17D (November 2017) and higher.  File Sync allows custom file changes to be made on the production site until 8 hours before cutover. At the 8-hour period leading up to the cutover, files are synced from the production site to the upgrade site so changes are not lost when cutover takes place.

9  The exclude_incidents.txt wordlist file is updated by the File Sync process as described in number 8 above.  

Folders synced are as follows:

* PHP Scripts: scripts/custom/src
* Customer Portal: CP3 development/staging folders (they are also compiled)
* Knowledge Foundation images: e.g. euf/assets, rnt/rnw/img
* Add-ins

Changes made on the upgrade site to custom PHP files stored in folders listed above will not be recoverable after File Sync is executed.

Notes:

  • Custom message base records and custom configuration settings are impacted.
  • It is not possible to add/delete/rename an interface while an update transaction exists.  Transactions are removed during the first weekend (US time) after 4 days have passed since the update completed.
  • File attachments are not copied to the upgrade site due to disk space involved in creating the copies. As a result, you cannot open "pre-existing" attachments within the upgrade site agent console. After cutover, the file attachments are available and can be opened or viewed as expected.

To ask a specific question regarding code freeze please submit your information here.

Available Languages for this Answer:

Notify Me
The page will refresh upon submission. Any pending input will be lost.