Skip Navigation
Expand
Restore option after updating
Answer ID 1688   |   Last Review Date 03/12/2019

Can we roll back to a previous version of Service Cloud after a version update?

Environment:

All Oracle Service Cloud (OSvC) Implementations

Resolution:

After your site updates, a backup of your site on the previous version is stored for 96 hours.

If you find any issues with your production site after update, submit a service request to Ask Technical Support explaining the issue. At this time, we will work with you to determine if there is a workaround or a patch for the issue reported.

In rare circumstances, when an acceptable resolution to a site down issue cannot be identified, your site can be restored to the state it was prior to cutover. This option should be used judiciously as it:

  • Causes the loss of all new data (service requests, contacts, etc.) from the time of the cutover until the time of the restore.
  • Introduces additional downtime.

Therefore, this should be considered only as a last resort.

Update retreats are executed at Oracle's sole discretion.

Due to the data loss involved, Oracle requires written permission from someone at high level within the customer's organization, acknowledging that he/she understands the following:

  • There is data loss involved in the site restore.
  • The downtime will be extended until the site restore is complete. We are unable to tell how long the site restore process will take.
  • The production is still locked into that target version, and you must update to that version before updating to a newer version.
  • We need to re-create the upgrade site, re-engineer and have that tested by your QA team before we can attempt to update the production site again i.e. the project schedule is extended.

The site restore process works as follows:

  1. The customer obtains permission from someone at management level as above.
  2. A service request requesting a site restore is submitted to Oracle, containing the written permission from step 1.
  3. Oracle team will obtain internal approval from Oracle management.
  4. The site is taken down for maintenance to perform site restore. The duration of the downtime cannot be calculated in advance.
  5. Site restore completion notification is sent to the customer.

Notes:

Example: If your site is cutover to the new version at 2:00 A.M. and you determine at 1:00 P.M. that you need to restore, you would lose all new data captured between 2:00 A.M. and 1:00 P.M.

Available Languages for this Answer:

Notify Me
The page will refresh upon submission. Any pending input will be lost.