What happens when an interface is disabled by Enablement?
All versions - Interfaces / Languages
NOTE: A primary interface CANNOT be disabled on May 2016 and older version sites. See definition below.
Disabling an interface is similar to deleting an interface but without removing the files and database entries for the interface. Because the files and database entries still exist, the interface could be re-enabled sometime in the future.
A disabled interface is not a product action but an action to remove access by making the vhost inaccessible.
- The interface is not accessible from the end-user pages.
- The administration console is not accessible to log into either directly or linked from another interface.
- Utilities are disabled on the disabled interface.
The following actions should be evaluated/completed prior to an interface being disabled.
(1) Managed Mailboxes should be:
- moved to an active interface,
- moved to an active interface and disabled,
- disabled, OR
(2) Non-Managed Mailboxes should be disabled for incoming email and be reconfigured to meet one of the above criteria for managed mailboxes.
NOTE: The utility which pulls incoming email is disabled when the interface is disabled. If the mailbox setups are not changed, mail may continue to accumulate in a mailbox and sometime in the future these messages could inadvertently be processed and create new incidents from old messages.
(3) Custom vhosts should show a splash page or be redirected to another page.
(4) Incidents associated to the interface should be addressed such as moving to another interface. The incidents will continue to be visible from other interfaces whether moved or not.
(5) To remove the interface from the Links list under File, disable the interface in profiles. This will require a logout/login action to see the changes.
Disabling the Primary Interface
NOTE: A primary interface CANNOT be disabled on May 2016 and older version sites.
The primary interface is defined as an enabled interface with the lowest id. Sitewide utilities are enabled on the primary interface.
When the primary interface is disabled, the sitewide utilities are moved to the next enabled interface with the next lowest id.
Sitewide utilities still perform actions on the interface as per configuration settings.
Manually Making Primary Interface Inaccessible
Follow Steps 1 through 5 under steps to be performed before disabling an interface.
(6) Block accessing the end user pages by setting SEC_VALID_ENDUSER_HOSTS
NOTE: Customer Portal can be permanently disabled via a Service Request.
For information on deleting an interface, refer to Answer ID 6505: Request to Delete an Interface