Skip Navigation
Expand
New incidents are created instead of updating the existing incident
Answer ID 1297   |   Last Review Date 07/22/2019

One of our customers responded to a solved incident, which created a new incident with a note on the incident saying "Incident created due to reply to expired incident yymmdd-xxxxxx".

Environment:

Incidents, Re-open deadline, Customer Portal pageset

Resolution:

When replying to an incident, a new incident will be created under any of the following conditions:

  1. When a contact updates a solved incident through the end-user pages and the incident has been solved beyond the time period specified by the "reopen_deadline" condition in the question details page, the "reopen_deadline" condition prevents the incident from being updated. 

    (You can change the amount of time in the "reopen_deadline" condition or prevent customers from ever updating a closed incident, regardless of how recently it’s been solved).

  2. If the incident is updated through the end-user pages using an email address other that is not listed for the contact record associated to incident.

For Customer Portal page set, to change the reopen deadline behavior from the question/detail page, you need to edit the incident_reopen_deadline_hours attribute in the conditional tag towards the top of that page.  The default page uses 168 (168 hours = 1 week).

<div id="rn_PageContent" class="rn_QuestionDetail">
    <div class="rn_Padding">
        <rn:condition incident_reopen_deadline_hours="168">
            <h2 class="rn_HeadingBar">#rn:msg:UPDATE_THIS_QUESTION_CMD#</h2>

Once this change has been made you must stage and promote the change to your production pages. For further information, see the documentation for Prevent Customers from Updating Solved Incidents.


Illustrates the Re-Open Deadline of 168 hours


For incidents being updated through techmail, the configurtion setting MYQ_REOPEN_DEADLINE is where the time setting is defined.

Important!: The MYQ_REOPEN_DEADLINE configuration setting is not valid when using the customer portal end-user pages.

Available Languages for this Answer:

Notify Me
The page will refresh upon submission. Any pending input will be lost.