Skip Navigation
Expand
Configuring incidents to send responses by default when saved
Answer ID 885   |   Last Review Date 12/05/2018

Is it possible to have the Send on Save box enabled by default when editing incidents?

Environment:

Workspaces, Incidents, Response Messaging

Resolution:

This answer deals specifically to setting the default value for the Send on Save button.

Within your site, the send response feature may be grayed out due to the configuration of your site or due to the staff member's profile. For more information on enabling the Send on Save / Send Response feature in your site, refer to Answer ID 1636: Send on Save Checkbox is Grayed Out.


The 'Automatically select Send on Save when Opening an incident' (May 2011 and previous releases 'Send Response Default') response option property specifies if the Send on Save check box is automatically enabled when an incident is added or opened for editing.

To access this property in the workspace designer, click within the Messages tab in the workspace, then from the Design tab in the ribbon at the top, select Response Options > Automatically select Send on Save when Opening an incident (May 2011 and previous releases 'Send Response Default').

  • Never: The Send on Save box is never enabled when an incident is opened or a new incident is created. 

  • On New: The Send on Save box is enabled (checked) by default for new incidents.  The Send on Save box is clear when existing incidents are opened for editing. 

  • On Edit: The Send on Save box is enabled (checked) when an existing incident is opened for editing.  The Send on Save box is clear when new incidents are added. 

  • On New and Edit: The Send on Save box is enabled (checked) for both new incidents and when an existing incident is opened for editing and a response is added.

The staff member can overwrite the default value of the Send on Save box based on the type of edits made to the incident.  That is, if the box is enabled by default, the staff member can click the button to clear the box and the response will not be sent if the incident is saved.