Skip Navigation
Expand
Beware of linked reports when deleting a report
Answer ID 7866   |   Last Review Date 12/18/2018

Will the user be warned when deleting a report and the report is linked to other reports?

Environment:

All Oracle B2C Service product versions

Resolution:

When a user deletes a report using the Reports Explorer there are no proactive warnings to show report links exist to or from the report. These dependencies are visible within the Report Editor. The user needs to know to navigate to this within the agent desktop before moving to delete a report in order to see there are linked report dependencies.

Report links can be viewed using the following methods:

1. View Report Definitions

a. Open report for edit > Home tab
b. Properties section > Definition > View
c. A "Report Links" section will appear if any reports are linked

2. View 'Links' from Display ribbon

a. Open report for edit
b. Select column heading
c. From Design tab > Report Linking

3. Linked Reports - standard report

a. Report name: Linked Reports (ID 13035)
b. Path:  \Public Reports\Common\Site Administration\Reports

Further, if a linked report is deleted any reports that were linked to the deleted report will show 'Report Unavailable' in the 'Report Links' section of a report definition. Also note that the deleted_recs table does not track when reports where deleted.

For more information on linked reports, refer to the Linking Reports section in online documentation for the version your site is currently on.  To access Oracle B2C Service manuals and documentation online, refer to the Documentation for Oracle B2C Service Products.

Available Languages for this Answer:

Notify Me
The page will refresh upon submission. Any pending input will be lost.