Skip Navigation
Expand
Specifying how long solved incidents remain in the system
Answer ID 265   |   Last Review Date 07/08/2019

How do I specify how long solved private incidents remain in the system before being deleted?

Environment:

Solved Incidents, Configuration Settings
All versions

Resolution:

The PURGE_DELETE_INCIDENTS setting specifies the number of days after which Private/Solved incidents will be deleted. Set this value to 0 to prevent incidents from being deleted.

Warning! Configuring this setting to any number other than zero may cause data to be irretrievably deleted from your database. Review the setting description and documentation carefully prior to setting the value. Verify that the Solved incidents older than the intended threshold are no longer needed by your organization.

If you do not want to delete the incidents, you can choose to set them to a dormant state by modifying the DORMANT_INCIDENTS setting. You can also archive older incidents. For more information on using the dormant incidents feature or archiving incidents, refer to Answer ID 1234: Archiving Older Incidents without Deleting Them.

Path to setting(s): Select Configuration from the navigation area > Site Configuration > Configuration Settings > and search by Key.

For more information on accessing the Configuration Editor and editing settings, refer to Answer ID 1960: Editing Configuration Settings.