How do I delete a contact record but not the organization?
Contacts, Organizations, All versions
Use caution when deleting records from your Oracle B2C Service application. Within the product, there is no record restore feature. Once the record is deleted, you will be unable to restore that record to your site.
Important! When you delete a contact record from your application, you also delete all incidents associated with that record. If you wish to retain the incidents for historical purposes, you can edit the record to disable it rather than deleting it.
An organization record is essentially the parent of a contact record. Deleting the organization will delete all associated contacts and all incidents associated to those contacts. Deleting the contact will delete all associated incidents, but it will not delete the organization record.
You can also delete a contact record when it is listed as a single record in a report. You cannot delete a contact when you have it open for editing.
To delete a contact, use the steps below:
- Run a report that lists individual contact records.
- Search for the contact record of interest so that it is returned in your report.
- Right click on the record and select Delete > Contact or if the report options are expanded at the top of the report, select Delete > Contact.
- Read the pop-up warning. If you wish to delete the record and all incidents where the contact is the primary contact for the incident, click Yes. To cancel, click No.
- If you delete the contact, the report automatically refreshes, so that it is no longer displayed in your report.