Skip Navigation
Expand
Using the Notify Subscribers menu with answer updates
Answer ID 1356   |   Last Review Date 07/22/2019

What is the Notify Subscribers menu used for when editing answers?

Environment:

All Releases / Answer Notifications

Resolution: 

The Notify Subscribers menu allows more control as to when an answer notification is emailed to the subscribers. Knowledge engineers can choose from the following options when saving an answer from the administration pages:

  • No Change
  • Do Not Notify
  • This Hour
  • End of Today
  • End of this Week
  • End of this Month

Answer notifications are then batch processed so that at the time specified, each subscriber will receive only one email with all appropriate subscription links contained in the single email. For example if an end-user is subscribed to three answers that are updated and set to have the notification sent at End of Today, the end-user receives one email at the end of the day and that email has a three links -- one to each of the answers.

The dbstatus utility is scheduled to run every 15 minutes to send update notifications. Therefore, the option to send notifications "this hour" indicates that the notification will be sent the next time the dbstatus utility runs. At most, it will be one hour from when the answer is saved that the notification will be sent.

The Notify Subscribers menu is controlled by the answer workspace used by the staff member.  By default, the Notify Subscribers field is located on the Details tab in the answer workspace.

To modify the default value of the Notify Subscribers menu, from the Common Configuration items, select Application Appearance > Workspaces/Workflows and open the answer workspace for editing.

In the workspace, click the Notify Subscribers field located on the Details tab. Then on the Design tab on the ribbon set the Default Notification Action property to one of the following options:

No Change - do not notify - same action as the 'Do Not Notify' option, it is just another classification where you make minor changes such as spelling, grammar, etc. (default value)
Do Not Notify - do not notify (default value) 
Hourly - notify at end of hour
Daily - notify at end of day
Weekly - notify at end of week
Monthly - notify at end of month 

For more information on editing workspace properties, refer to Answer ID 2518: Setting Properties in Workspaces.


For additional information, refer to the 'Add an Answer' section in online documentation for the version your site is currently running. To access Oracle Service Cloud manuals and documentation online, refer to the Documentation for Oracle Service Cloud Products.

Available Languages for this Answer:

Notify Me
The page will refresh upon submission. Any pending input will be lost.