Can I edit a document that has already been sent in an email?
Documents in Mailings
Outreach and Feedback
The RNM_MOD_SENT_DOCS configuration setting specifies whether documents can be edited after having been sent in an outbound email.
Note: As a best practice, it is not advised to edit or modify documents that have already been sent in a mailing. Edits to existing, sent documents may cause some reporting discrepancies if links are added or removed from the content. As a result, it is best to create a new document and use the new content in mailings.
The accepted values for the RNM_MOD_SENT_DOCS setting are:
- 0 - Disables edit of sent documents. Edits cannot be saved to a document that was sent in an outbound email and a message will be displayed asking the staff member to copy the document and edit the copy.
- 1 - Prompt on edit of sent documents. Edits can be saved to the document and a message will be displayed warning that the document was sent in an outbound email.
- 2 - No restriction on sent documents. Edits can be saved to the document and staff members will not receive a warning if the document was sent in an outbound email.
Default is 0.
Path to setting(s): Select Configuration from the navigation area > Site Configuration > Configuration Settings > and search by Key.
Note: If a document is modified after having been sent in an outbound email, you will no longer be able to view the original content of the document in a contact's history. The modified document will display when viewing the outbound email from the Outreach Activity tab of the Contact Console.