Skip Navigation
Expand
Oracle Field Service (OFS) Instance Cloning Policy
Answer ID 8500   |   Last Review Date 06/15/2020

What is the Oracle Field Service (OFS) instance cloning policy?

Environment:

Cloning functionality is supported for Oracle Field Service instances running on 19C or higher.

Issue:

How do I copy or clone Oracle Field Service (OFS) instances? 

Resolution:

Oracle Field Service support instance cloning in the Cloud Portal.

Please see the Cloud Portal documentation for the most recent information.  

Disclaimer: Oracle reserves the right to change or update this policy at any time without notice.

The ‘Recreate instance’ option within the Cloud Portal includes multiple options in regards to the data copied from the source to the target instance. The following options are available:

  • Configuration
  • Configuration and data for future
  • Configuration, data for future and 7 days from the past

The ‘Recreate instance’ option also supports the ability to Start Over, which re-creates your instance with default settings just like it was prior to any configuration. 

Configuration and data can be copied between instances on the same Oracle Field Service release version:

  • Production to TEST
  • TEST to TEST
  • TEST to Production (Note: Available only when the Production instance is NOT in “Go-live” Mode)
    • Once Production is changed to ‘Go-Live’ mode, you cannot copy TEST to Production. 


 

What information is cloned/copied:

The following Configuration elements are included in the copying process when Recreate from another instance is selected: Activity Types, Applications, Business Rules, Capacity Categories, Collaboration/Helpdesk groups and their members, Company Settings, Daily Extract, BICS/DbaaS Configuration, Dashboards (both Reports and Dashboards), Display, Filters, Forms & Plugins, Geocoding configuration, Glossary, Holidays, Inventory Types, Link Templates, Login Policies, Message Scenarios, Oracle Knowledge, Organizations, Properties, Quota (configuration settings), Resources, Resource Types, Resource Settings, Routing Settings, Time Slots, Themes, Users and User Types, Work schedules, Work Skills, Work Skill Conditions, Work zones, Work zone layers, event subscriptions

In addition the Configuration elements above, the following Data will be copied when Recreate from another instance with data for future or data for future and 7 days from the past is selected: Activities, Inventory, Quota (quota values), Service requests, Statistics Parameters (only configuration of parameters; no actual statistical data)

The following Data is not included in the cloning process: Certificates (uploaded for SAML & Open ID login policies and Applications secrets), Collaboration chats, Daily Extract archives, BICS/DBaaS/OAC real time data, GPS tracks, Files (images, file attachments, signatures, user avatars), History (activity, resource, inventory), Logs, Messages, Plugins credentials (credentials should be manually reconfigured), Work zone shapes


What data will be preserved on the target instance:

Delivery channels: Message Scenarios & Outbound Integration

The 'Delivery channels' end points are preserved on the target instance at the beginning of "Recreate instance' operation and restored upon completion of the operation. The system restores end points only for delivery channels that match between source and target instance (for example, same delivery channels on Production and Test).

Delivery Channels that do not have matching endpoints have to be reconfigured manually in the target environment after the clone operation 


Data Deletion:

Once the operation is completed, all the data present on the target instance prior to the clone operation is deleted permanently without the possibility to restore it.



Frequently Asked Questions:


Q. Why isn't there a TEST to PRODUCTION option after the initial “go-live” clone?

A. Production instances are the critical to your company’s daily operation therefore Production updates should be updated with extra care.  Automated Production updates can lead to data integrity issues and inadvertently lead to unanticipated downtime. For this reason we do not have a process to apply changes from TEST to PRODUCTION after you are using the system with live users.


Q: How long will it take to copy data from Production to Test? Will the request be processed during the day?

A: It varies basing on recreate option selected, data size and total volume of requested operations in the queue.


Q. How do I know the process is complete?

A. You can check the status of the process using the Cloud Portal.


Q. Can I specify the date and time of the cloning operation?

A. Unfortunately there is no way to arrange a specific date and time to initiate the cloning process.  We will handle these requests on a first come, first serve basis.


Q. What if we are not on current or previous Generally Available release?

A. You should contact your Sales Account Manager to schedule an upgrade.   


Q. Can I pick and choose what configuration items I want cloned?

A. Currently it is not possible to pick and choose specific configurations elements. The cloning process will copy the all configuration elements identified in the " What information is cloned/copied” section above.  


Q. Will any data be lost during the process?

A. Copies will be made based on what is available in the "What information is cloned/copied” and “What data will be preserved on the target instance” sections above. Once the operation is completed all the data present on the target instance prior to the cloning operation is deleted permanently without the possibility to restore it.


Q. Will I need to configure anything after the process is complete?

A. This will depend on your system configuration and the type of recreate that is selected. There might be a need to modify settings after the cloning process is complete, this includes but is not limited to Certificates (uploaded for SAML & Open ID login policies and Applications), Collaboration chats, Daily Extract archives, BICS/DBaaS/OAC real time data, GPS tracks, Files (images, file attachments, signatures, user avatars), History (activity, resource, inventory), Logs, Messages, Plugins credentials (credentials should be manually reconfigured) and Work zone shapes. 

Q. Is there a risk that something will not be copied?

A. The cloning operation has a time limit of twenty-four (24) hours. If the cloning request is not completed within the limit, you will see a failure status in the Cloud Portal. You will have to resubmit the cloning request to successfully complete the operation.


Q. Will there be any exceptions to this policy (e.g. copy activity data, requests to perform the work immediately, change the cloning frequency, etc.)?

A. Unfortunately we cannot make any exceptions to this policy at this time.


Q. It has been 1 month since we went live and a significant amount of changes were made in one of the TEST instances, can you move these to PRODUCTION?

A. You can request to copy configuration between TEST to PRODUCTION until the ‘Go-live’ option is selected. After ‘Go-live’ is selected you will no be able to request configuration copies between TEST and PRODUCTION.


Q: How many cloning operations can I request?

A: - Only one operation a day per instance is available for data copy. . The number of 'Start over' operations is not limited.  For example: If you have three TEST instances – Test1, Test2 and Test3. You request a Recreate of Test2 from Test1, which means you cannot request a Recreate of Test2 in the same day. You can, however, request a Recreate of Test3 from Test2.


Q: How can I make sure that outbound communications won't be sent for Prod users after Production to Test data copy?

A: End points on the Test instance will be preserved on the first stage of the operation and will be restored upon completion of the operation for those delivery channels that match between Test and Prod. This insures that communications are pointed to the right channels. End points that don't match will be removed therefore messages won't be sent, to enable communications the customer will have to configure them manually.


Q: How to get admin user if I decide to start configuration over?

A: You should create new admin user via 'Reset Admin User' function of Service console.


Available Languages for this Answer:

Notify Me
The page will refresh upon submission. Any pending input will be lost.