Skip Navigation
Expand
Assigning workspaces to staff profiles
Answer ID 2451   |   Last Review Date 12/18/2018

How do I assign a workspace to a profile?

Environment

Workspaces / Profile association
All versions

Resolution

Workspaces define the configuration of the content panes when you view, add or edit any records. Each staff member is assigned workspaces through the profile assigned to their staff account. 

When a new profile is created, if a workspace is not specified, the standard, system-defined workspaces are used. If a custom workspace has been created, workspaces are assigned in alphabetical order.  For example, in the Service tab in an Account Profile, if no custom workspaces are created, then the default Incident workspace will be used for incidents.  However if a workspace was created and named Anna's Incident, then Anna's Incident workspace would be used if you assign it to that profile. 

There are different workspaces for different record types, including Organizations, Contacts, Service, Sales and Tasks.  For example, under the Service tab, there are workspaces for Answers, and workspaces for Incidents.

In order to access records and edit a record using a workspace, the profile must grant the ability to edit that record type. 


To change the workspace assigned to a profile: 

  1. From the Configuration Items, select Staff Management > Profiles.
     
  2. Open the profile you want to assign the workspace to either by right clicking on the profile and selecting Edit Profile, or double clicking the profile name. 
     
  3. Click on the tab that holds the workspace you want to change.
     
  4. In the workspace section, click the Workspace drop down menu, and choose the workspace you want that profile to use for that interface. 
     
  5. Click Save.


If the standard workspaces do not fit your needs, you can copy and edit them.  Once you have a workspace that fits your needs, change the profile to use that workspace.

For more information on editing a workspace, refer to Answer ID 2483: Setting up a New Workspace.

 

 

Available Languages for this Answer:

Notify Me
The page will refresh upon submission. Any pending input will be lost.