When deleting a chat incident from a Contact record, why is the Chat ID associated to the incident still showing in the chat reports?
May 2010 and newer releases
When you delete a chat incident from a contact record, the functionality does not work the same as when a contact record is deleted and all incidents associated with that record are also deleted.
Chats are only purged by the agedatabase utility per the value set in the CHATS_PURGE_DAYS configuration setting. This setting specifies the age in days of chat records that will be purged by the agedatabase utility.
For example, when this configuration setting is set to a value of '180', any chats that were created on a specific date would not be purged from the system until 180 days later. At that time, you would no longer see those chats showing in your reports.
Path to setting(s): Select Configuration from the navigation area > Site Configuration > Configuration Settings > and search by Key.
For more information on accessing the Configuration Editor and editing settings, refer to Answer ID 1960: Editing Configuration Settings.