Skip Navigation
Expand
Describes what can occur when selecting the 'Transfer to Agent' option during a chat
Answer ID 10796   |   Last Review Date 04/27/2019

What occurs when selecting the 'Transfer to Agent' option during a chat?

Environment:

Chat agents transferring a chat session
All currently supported versions of Oracle Service Cloud

Resolution:

When an agent (Agent A) attempts to transfer a chat, they can select to transfer the chat directly to another agent, 'Transfer to Agent' method, or to a chat queue, 'Transfer to Queue' method.  When selecting the 'Transfer to Agent' method, one of the following will occur:

1.  If no agents are logged into chat and in an Available status, Agent A will see the message, "No other agents are available", as seen below, and the chat cannot be transferred.


2.  If agents are logged into chat and in an Available status, the agents' full names will be displayed in the list of agents to which the chat can be transferred.  The names will be displayed under each group to which the agents belong, as seen in the image below.  An agent must be selected, as the system will not permit a group to be selected.  Additionally, an agent must be in an Available status in order for a chat to be transferred to him or her.

Note:  In the event an agent is addressing the maximum number of chats per his or her profile at the time Agent A attempts to transfer the chat, Agent A will see the message "Request to <agent display name> is 'Unavailable'.  Choose another agent." as seen in the image below.

 3.  If agents are logged into chat, but not in an Available status, the agents' names will not be displayed in the list of agents to which the chat can be transferred.  As stated above, an agent must be in an Available status in order for a chat to be transferred to him or her.  For example, if Agent B is logged into chat, but is set to an Unavailable status, Agent B will not show in the list of agents to which the chat can be transferred.

For more information on what transpires when a chat is transferred, see What is the process when transferring chats to agents in another queue?

Available Languages for this Answer:

Notify Me
The page will refresh upon submission. Any pending input will be lost.