What are the default settings that govern incident archiving and archived incident purging?
February 2015 and newer, Incident Archiving
Starting with version February 2015, the default values that govern incident archiving and archived incident purging will be different than for prior versions.
Note: These settings apply to interfaces.
Default values for new sites on version February 2015 and newer:
New sites will have incident archiving and archived incident purging enabled by default. The affected functionalities and their default values are:
- Days after which incident is archived: 365
- Days after which archived incident is purged: 1825
This means that 365 days after an incident is Solved, it will be automatically archived, and 1,825 days after an incident is Solved, the archived incident will be automatically permanently deleted from the archive.
Default values for upgraded sites:
Sites upgraded from an older version to February 2015 or greater will have the following default values:
- Days after which incident is archived: Prior value is retained
- Days after which archived incident is purged: Prior value is retained
This means if incident archiving or purging of archived incidents was enabled for your interfaces prior to the upgrade, then they will remain enabled with the same value specified as it was prior to the upgrade. If they were disabled prior to the upgrade, then they will still be disabled after the upgrade.
Note: Settings for both archiving of incidents and purging of archived incidents are expected to be adjusted and controlled by the customer to fit their specific data retention policies or requirements. These settings are the customer’s responsibility, as well as the incidents that are archived and/or purged. It is recommended that incident archiving remain enabled to ensure data stores are cleansed of unnecessary data and to maintain optimal performance.